PhD Nutrition

When you’re training six days a week, lifting weights AND doing cardio, you put your body through a lot.

That’s why it’s important I fuel myself with the right kinds of food and supplements, so I can work harder, help my body repair quicker and grow stronger.

PhD Nutrition* offer a range of sports nutrition products designed to do just that, and even have a range specifically created to meet the needs of women – PhD Woman – to help us achieve our health and fitness goals.

I’ve been working with PhD for three months now, trying out a range of their products so I can pass on my thoughts to you guys.

IMG_2351.jpg

The two main supplements I take are protein and BCAAs. So, firstly, what are they and why do I take them?

Everyone needs protein in their diet, but if you train you will need to increase your intake to aid the repair and recovery of your muscles.

PhD offer a range of protein powders, which can be mixed with water, ready-to-drink shakes and bars.

I’ve been trying two protein powders from PhD Nutrition:

Pharma Pure Whey Isolate (£33.74 for 908g, 30 servings):

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 14.20.45This comes in four flavours: Chocolate cookie / chocolate orange / strawberry and vanilla. I tried the chocolate cookie and chocolate orange.

These blended up so smoothly. Neither flavour was overpowering and I loved mixing the chocolate cookie into my morning oats to give them a great chocolatey taste, while I drank the chocolate orange straight after my workout or mixed it with a little water to create a protein mousse as a nighttime treat – it tasted just like a chocolate orange, I couldn’t get enough of it.

MACROS (for both flavours):

Per 100g: FAT 1.51g / CARBS 4.5g / PROTEIN 82g

Per 30g serving: FAT 0.45g / CARBS 1.35g / PROTEIN 24.60g

Tricellar Whey (£35.99 for 900g, 36 servings):

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 14.20.06This comes in three flavours: Chocolate cookie / strawberry delight and vanilla creme. I tried chocolate cookie.

This was a little grainy once blended, but there was no difference in flavour. When I used it in my porridge or to make protein mousse it set a lot firmer than the isolate.

One gripe is that the lid on the tub is really hard to get back on and the last thing you want it 900g of protein powder going everywhere! However, the isolate comes in a plastic, resealable pouch, which was easy to open and seal. Both also come with a plastic scope for measuring.

MACROS:

Per 100g: FAT 1.6g / CARBS 7.0g / PROTEIN 77g

Per 25g serving: FAT 0.4g / CARBS 1.7g / PROTEIN 19.3g

Per 50g serving: FAT 0.8g / CARBS 3.4g / PROTEIN 38.6g

Both varieties would also be great for making protein pancakes.

Because I suffer from water retention, however, I tend to stick to whey isolate because it’s a purer form of whey protein and doesn’t leave me as bloated.

20160220_101812
Oats and protein powder, yum!

Ok, now onto the BCAAs I’ve been trying.

BCAA stands for Branch Chain Amino Acids and are made up of three essential amino acids: Leucine, Isoleucine and Valine. When taken as a supplement they help support your immune system, promote muscle growth and aid recovery.

Most commonly you will find these essential amino acids combined in a 2:1:1 ratio, but PhD’s Intra BCAA+ Powder is a 4:1:1 ratio mix.

You can take BCAAs in either powder form (mixed with water) or as a capsule. PhD offer both. This range also comes with added coconut water powder, to keep you extra hydrated through your workout.

Intra BCAA+ Powder (£39.99 for 450g, 30 servings)

bcaa

“ copy

This comes in three flavours: Coconut and lime / coconut and mango and watermelon. I tried coconut and lime and watermelon. 

If you like sweet things, then give the watermelon flavour a try. It was too sweet for me, but those of you who like anything watermelon-flavoured would love this.

My fave flavour by far was the coconut and lime – IT TASTED LIKE PINA COLADA!!!! And this was plenty sweet enough for me – it really helped stave off any cravings I might be having that day.

It was still sweet, though, so I opted to dilute half the recommended serving in a litre of water and would sip it throughout my workout, which was just right for me. There was no nasty after taste and it was refreshing, although, I’d recommend blending it with ice-cold water and even a few ice cubes for a real thirst-quencher, otherwise I found it quite thick, heavy and sickly.

20160209_140226

If you have any other questions about the PhD brands, just drop me a line and I’d love to know what supplements you guys use. What are your fave protein shakes and flavours?

Until next time, stay happy and healthy!

text-2

*PhD Nutrition and PhD Woman were kind enough to send me these products. However, all views are my own.

Leave a Reply

