My lower body stretching routine

I might sound like I’m moaning here, but right now not a day goes by without some part of my body aching!

Legs, shoulders, abs, back, bottom…after a punishing weights session I know I’ll be in for a day of oohhhhs and ahhhhs whenever I try to get up from my chair, reach for something or even attempt to brush my hair, not to mention the morbid fear of stairs that grips me after leg day!

Which is why it’s so important that I treat my sore muscles to a good stretch and deep tissue rub down, because it ensures they stay flexible, which will help aid mobility and strength and prevent injury and muscle fatigue in the long run.

Don’t worry, though, you don’t have to be a yogic master to stretch yourself out successfully. The following stretching routine is specifically designed to target your lower body (legs, glutes and back), can be practiced by anyone and takes no more than half an hour.

It was devised by world-renowned stretching and conditioning coach Joe DeFranco and is called the Limber 11.

Athletes from around the world visit Joe at his gym in Austin, Texas because he is famous for his techniques in improving strength, speed, power, mobility and agility. However, the Limber 11 is a set of 11 exercises designed with every athlete in mind – it’s easy to follow, all you need is a foam roller and massage ball and it will leave you feeling like a new person.

Joe talks you through the Limber 11 on this YouTube video here

Let me know if you get a chance to try it out and next week, look out for reviews on the foam roller and massage ball I use to ease my achy muscles…

Stay happy and healthy,

text-2

Leave a Reply

