My muscle easing must haves

There’s nothing like a good old stretch or, better still, a deep tissue massage, and you don’t need an army of physiotherapists at hand to ease those aching muscles.

These days even supermarkets are selling workout equipment. It’s affordable, accessible and if you want to stay flexible and injury free, it’s a necessity!

I use a couple of things to help keep me limber and I wanted to share them with you…

The first is a Rumble Roller Beastie

IMG_2375.jpg

Made in the USA, this nobly tool, around the size of a tennis ball, has 32, firm and flexible bumps that get into every nook and cranny.

It comes in two versions – original or x-firm – and has its own multi-functional base, which elevates the rumble roller to get into hard to reach places, as well as stabilising it when you want a more controlled and forceful massage – it’s even wall mountable!

There isn’t a part of your body you can’t use this one – even your feet. I own the original version, which is plenty firm for me. I love using this on my shoulders and glutes (bottom muscles!) to rub out tight knots.

It’s not necessarily going to be a comfortable experience, but neither is a sports massage, because you’re kneading away at tight muscles to alleviate the stress and tension that regular exercise puts on them. But once those sore bits have been rolled about on this for a few minutes, you’ll feel such relief.

It’s a great size, really light and durable. I rate the Rumble Rollers as one of the best sports massage tools around.

IMG_2376.jpg

Secondly, I’m a big fan of foam rolling. It’s a simple, but affective, technique where you roll your body over a tube of foam to knead your muscles and massage and stretch them out.

These rollers come in all sorts of shapes and sizes and I initially bought a smooth one…

IMG_2379.jpg

I’d recommend this for anyone who is just starting to foam roller as, in all honesty, if you hit a tight or knotted muscle it can be rather uncomfortable rollering it out.

However, I found it just wasn’t hitting the spot, so I moved on to a knobbly one….

IMG_2380.jpg

I picked up this particular model at TK Maxx and it’s called The Beast Travel Size Massage Foam Roller by More Mile.

This one features firm, but flexible, raised foam blocks, which act like the thumbs of a massage therapist…

 

It measures just 31cm x 11cm so it compact enough to reach lots of different muscle groups and even fits in your gym bag – or luggage, if you are a frequent traveller.

Also, what was great about this one, was that the sleeve it came wrapped in had a full roller workout printed on the back…so be careful when you open it, because I ripped mine 😦

If you can get your hands on one of these, I’d also really recommend it. Mine was only about a £10 and well worth it.

Until next time, stay happy and healthy.

text-2

Leave a Reply

