Proskins leggings review

I’m a fussy little thing when it comes to gym wear and, in particular, leggings.

Firstly, I like them to come up high – I mean over the belly button, warming my kidneys high.

Secondly, they have to be comfortable and smart – I wear my gym kit to work five days a week and train six days a week, so whether I’m sat at my desk or in the gym, I don’t want to be fussing over what I’m wearing.

Thirdly, they need to be squat proof – I squat, I lunge, I deadlift, I do glute work and use the leg press, the last thing I want to be worrying about is whether the person next to me can see my undies!

So, you can imagine the sort of workout I get up to in the changing room when I’m trying to shop for new gym clothes!

That’s why, when I was offered the chance to try a pair of Proskins Slim Leggings in Classic Black, I’d have been silly not to say ‘yes’.IMG_2601

Having done my fair share of research into workout gear I was already familiar with these leggings and the hype surrounding them.

I’d heard people raving about how comfortable and durable they were, some claiming they were the only leggings they ever wanted to buy again, others saying they wore them on the days they weren’t training as ‘regular’ leggings.

There’s also the fact that they hold some rather interesting secrets. These leggings are made from an advanced technology fabric. Here’s the science part:

  1. The fabric offers a level of pressure which promotes blood circulation and lymphatic drainage, meaning it flushes out toxins which cause cellulite. They also reduce the appearance of cellulite, giving you a more even skin tone.
  1. The leggings contain a micro-encapsulated yarn. Yep, the yarn is impregnated with micro-capsules packed full of some very interesting stuff. These capsules are then massaged into the skin as you wear them, leaving it feeling softer and smoother. And the capsules are guaranteed to stay in the fabric for at least 100 washes. So, what’s in them and why’s it so special?

            Caffeine: Encourages circulation and promotes fat destruction.

            Retinol: Stimulates collagen, giving a youthful appearance.

            Vitamin E: An antioxidant to help leave skin looking rejuvenated.

            Aloe Vera: Leaves skin feeling smoother and softer.

            Cermamides: Helps restore the skin’s natural protective barrier.

            Fatty acids: Help your skin absorb the other ingredients better.

If that wasn’t all, the leggings have a moisture management system, to ensure you stay cool and dry while training; an active micro-climate, so your body’s temperature is regulated to 37C; and a silver anti-bacterial treatment so the fabric stays clean and odour free while being worn, and helps with wear.

That’s a heck of a lot packed into a pair of leggings and with my check list of must-haves, there’s not much pressure then, is there?!

IMG_2584I tried out a pair of the Slim Classic Black leggings (RRP £49.95, sizes 6 to 24). However, there are also high wasted, capri, knee high and shorts options in a selection of colours and patterns.

I picked mine in a size 10 and I’d say they are true to size, plus they arrived packaged small enough to fit through most post boxes.

What I noticed first was the soft, silky feel and sheen they have, all my other leggings are matt, but it’s not at all in your face or overly shiny.

Pulling them on I found that, even though I hadn’t opted for high wasted, these came up past my belly button and smoothed everything out nicely. There were no lumps or bumps, no, ahem, camel toe, and nothing was digging in.

The squat test performed in front of the mirror there and then was…a success!

The next day I pulled them on at 6.30am and didn’t take them off again until I got home at 7.30pm, so how did they fare?

I LOVE these leggings.  IMG_2597

I was worried the compression element would make me feel like my legs were being squeezed, but no! They were so comfortable, it felt like I wasn’t wearing anything on my legs.

There are no unsightly seams digging into your legs, they made them look smooth and slim, they didn’t go baggy or crease. And, even though I’m only 5ft 2in, there wasn’t yards of material gathered round my ankles.

They did wick away sweat and I didn’t get overly hot in them, for the other claims about them making my legs softer and reducing cellulite…well, they certainly evened out the appearance of my pins while I was wearing them. But whether they felt smoother and looked more youthful I really can’t say. I didn’t notice a difference, but they are a good pair of leggings regardless, so if these are benefits others do experience then that’s a bonus.

They washed great too – no shrinking or bobbling and they are smart enough to wear straight from the gym and not leave you looking like a sweaty mess. In fact, they don’t even have to be just for the gym, incorporate them into your everyday wardrobe too, they won’t look out of place.

I’ve never owned such a comfortable pair of leggings.

IMG_2599

When I first looked into getting a pair, I’ll admit the price put me off. However, I work out a lot and I’ve come to realise that good quality gym wear is important. My kit gets sweaty and dirty on a daily basis, it’s being stretched and yanked as I train and washed constantly.

I’ve had plenty of cheap items that have stained, gone baggy and shrunk in the wash, I need durable, reliable, quality pieces of clothing that can withstand a day on the go and an intense training session.

I now save them to wear on Saturdays when I know I’m going to be out running errands all day, then straight to the gym and spending hours sat in front of my computer blogging. I know they look smart, will be good in the gym and comfortable enough for me to sit around in to.

Well done Proskins, I’m impressed.

Until next time, stay happy and healthy…text-2

*PR sample, all opinions my own

Leave a Reply

