HERBALIFE gets sporty!

Most of you will be familiar with Herbalife, famous for meal replacements, shakes and snacks that help with weight management.

However, did you know they also have a sports nutrition range, developed to help hydrate, boost energy and support recovery?

Nope, neither did I!

IMG_2566

The range, called Herbalife24, includes pre and intra-workout, protein shakes and bars, supplements and electrolyte drinks and I’ve been trying a few of the products out.

Herbalife24 Hydrate (20 sachets) – 

DSCF0086

This is a calorie free drink, with no artificial colours or flavours, that’s packed with Vitamin C, B, calcium and magnesium.

You mix one sachet with 500ml of water and its aim is to keep you hydrated during your workout.Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 17.12.09I really liked this.

The slim sachets were super convenient and easy to use, I just had to rip the end off and they fit into the top of my water bottle, no fuss or mess and with a quick, vigorous shake I had a really refreshing drink.

I thought it tasted best mixed with cold water and looked just like lemon squash.

The flavour was nice too, certainly not overly sweet and sickly but nice, subtle and sharp (in fact, to begin with I thought it was lemon flavoured!) Still that didn’t bother me, because I really liked these.

I think for anyone who is on comp prep and having to consume 6 or more litres of water a day these are a great way of making it taste more interesting and were approved by my coach.

Definitely worth a try.

Protein bars (vanilla almond; chocolate peanut; citrus lemon)

IMG_2521

I really liked the sound of these citrus lemon bars.

They aren’t as high in protein as some gym goers will expect from their post workout snack, but if you are after something with a shot of carbs too, then this is a handy little bar to keep just floating round in your bag.

Macros per 35g bar:

Fat 5g

Carbs 16g

Protein 10g

Includes Vitamin B1, B2, B6 and vitamin E

IMG_2528

These have a really nice consistency, like a Milky Way with a little more of a crumbly and denser centre. The lemon isn’t too over powering and if you’re in need of a quick snack, they work great. Although, they aren’t very big (3inches) and I was tempted to eat 2 at a time!!

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 17.14.55Now, I know not everyone agrees with meal replacement shakes, but I didn’t realise that that’s not all Herbalife has to offer.

It’s certainly worth looking into the new Herbalife24 sports nutrition range, which is specifically designed for athletes – whether you are aiming to lose or gain weight, improve your performance or build muscle.

Until next time, stay happy and healthy….

text-2

*PR samples, all opinions my own

Leave a Reply

