Shake it like JLo!

Hey everyone,

Now, I know the market seems saturated with protein powders, but that doesn’t mean that they are any good.

So, when I see a new one being released I’m always interested in giving it a go*, especially if it means I can report back to you about what I think of it.

Recently Bodylab, who produce health and fitness supplements specifically designed for women, teamed up with singer/actress Jennifer Lopez to release a new range for sale in Superdrug.

And among the products was a protein shake, so, here are my thoughts…

IMG_2542

Developed by a team of leading female nutritionists and dieticians, this new launch features a preworkout, protein shakes in classic vanilla and raspberry yoghurt flavour, a supplement to support your metabolism and a 14-day jump start kit.

I have been trying the TastyShake Total Protein Complex in classic vanilla (£19.99 for 420g, approx 21 servings).IMG_2544First thing I noticed when opening up the tub was the smell, in a positive way! It wasn’t overly sweet like a lot of vanilla shakes can be and had a really subtle scent, which I hoped meant the flavour itself wouldn’t be sickly either.

Instructions state to mix one scoop (20g) with 180-240ml of cold water.

It’s a nice, finely milled powder although it still took a good long shake to get it fully blended without any lumps.

And, I have to admit, I was really surprised by the flavour. It tastes of vanilla milkshake!

There’s no overpoweringly cloying vanilla scent as you raise your shaker to take a sip, which you can get with some shakes, there’s no sugary or sickly after taste and it’s got a really nice, light consistency – not too watery or thick, but very refreshing.

The macros are great too:

Per 20g – Fat 1.5g

Protein 15g

Carbs 1.7g

I’d like it if the protein was higher, as I’m used to shakes with 20 – 26g of protein per serving, however the carbs and fat are really impressive on this.IMG_2547Overall if you are looking for a vanilla protein shake I would suggest giving this one a go (as a heads up it does contain milk protein, lactose and soy, so won’t be for everyone). However, it sits at a decent price point, the flavour is pleasant and the macros are good.

Until next time, stay happy and healthy…

text-2

*PR sample

Leave a Reply

