Clubbercise

The lights are low, the music is pumping, I’m on the dancefloor of a nightclub…and I’m in my gym gear!

Yep, because I’m not on a night out, I’m about to work out!

I’m having a go at Clubbercise, a fitness-dance class which fuses clubbing and exercise. For a music loving gym bunny, could there be anything better? Let’s find out…

Clubbercise (1).jpg

 

Clubbercise was created in 2013 and mashes together old-skool high and low impact aerobics with club and street dance moves.

Classes are held up and down the country at venues ranging from community halls and mirrored fitness studios to actual night clubs.

There’s no equipment needed, but to ensure your arms get a cheeky toning session too, you will have your very own set of flashing LED glow sticks to fling about as you work out.

20160831_185448.jpg

All fitness abilities are welcome at Clubbercise, with the instructor giving plenty of options for hard you can make each of the moves.

And the less confident, two-left-footed among us need not worry either – during the class the lights are dimmed to mimic the atmosphere of a typical dancefloor, the perfect way to shed those inhibitions!

I wasn’t sure what to expect, but within seconds of the music starting I had a smile on my face.

20160831_185354.jpg

I’m not the best of dancers but the moves were simple, the instructor taking you through them step by step and building them into a routine as you went, so you never felt overwhelmed.

Each track marked the beginning of a new routine, but I still felt like I’d master the moves by the end of each tune, which ranged from 90s classics to up-to-the-minute chart toppers.

And with each class lasting an hour you’re going to work up quite a sweat….and burn around 500 calories too.

This is a really fun class to take with your pals or on your own, because you never know who you might bump into, literally in my case, and have a giggle with.

There aren’t many exercise classes I’ve come out of saying I laughed as hard as I trained, but Clubbercise certainly makes keeping fit fun.

The atmosphere is friendly, inclusive, energetic and carefree…plus you know you won’t be waking up with a hangover in the morning!

Until next time, stay happy and healthy!

text-2

4 thoughts on “Clubbercise

Leave a Reply

