Innermost

When you’re training hard, if you can trick yourself into thinking you’re getting something ‘naughty’, while in fact giving your body a boost of the good stuff, then all the better.

That’s why I love protein shakes, because I’m getting a great hit of nutrients but I can also enjoy some delicious flavours – cookies and cream, peanut butter, raspberry, strawberry – the list is endless.

But flavour, texture and nutritional content can vary massively between protein brands, and with so many to choose from, I want to hunt out the best and worst.

So, when I was sent info on the launch of Innermost*, who offer no fewer than four superfood protein blends, I thought I’d give them a try for you guys…

DSC00607.jpg

Innermost are spoiling us for choice when it comes to their range of protein shakes, having created four different blends, all designed with specific lifestyle goals in mind.

STRONG – maximising strength and muscle gains.

FIT – focusing on energising, rehydrating and recovery.

HEALTH – improving wellbeing and vitality.

LEAN – supporting healthy weight-loss goals.

They are GMO-free and each contain a blend of protein, superfoods and nutrient-rich natural ingredients. They are also gluten and soy free, halal, kosher and suitable for vegetarians. However, only the HEALTH blend is lactose free and vegan as well.

The first thing I will note, before looking at each blend individually, is that these seem to have been designed with a certain type of person in mind – an instagram’ing, selfie taking, #fitspo, gym bunny. These are uber stylish protein powders! Controversial, I know, but I’m here to give my honest opinion.

There are a lot of very ‘now’ ingredients used too, such as Montmorency cherries, pink Himalayan sea salt and acas berries, and then some that I doubt the average person has ever even heard of, including glutamine, creatine monohydrate and acetyl L-Carnitine.

It just seems like Innermost are trying to impress with all this jargon and make a cool looking brand, but lots of people might not understand the true uses and benefits of these ingredients.

So, let’s take a look at each individual blend. All the powders I tested were in the CREAMY VANILLA flavour. £25 each for 600g (a single serving is 40g.)

STRONG – Nourish and strengthen, promotes muscle gain and supports energy and vitality. Per serving 0.8C|34P|1.1FScreen Shot 2017-03-04 at 11.22.41.pngThis tasted really watery and had a chalky texture. Also, there was a purple, grainy residue left at the bottom of my shaker, which I can only think were the bilberries that are in this blend and which had separated to the bottom. I didn’t like this one.

FIT – Nourish and replenish. Preserves and develops lean muscle. Per serving 4.5C|29P|1.2FScreen Shot 2017-03-04 at 11.23.54.pngThis was by far my favourite. It blended up into a nice creamy texture, and the vanilla flavouring wasn’t too overpowering or sickly sweet. A nice blend.

HEALTH – Nourish and defend. Supports wellbeing and vitality. Per serving 2.5C|31P|1.4FScreen Shot 2017-03-04 at 11.24.18.pngNo, no, no! I had to throw this one out after two mouthfuls. It was so grainy that each swallow was catching at the back of my throat and making me want to cough, even when I shook it again. The powder had a very strange green tinge to it and the smell was bizarre. No, just, no, it was horrible!

LEAN – Nourish and tone. Supports healthy weight loss. Per serving 4.5C|29P|1.2FScreen Shot 2017-03-04 at 11.22.05.pngThis was my second favourite blend. It mixed well and the vanilla flavour wasn’t artificial tasting, but that’s about all I have to say that’s good!

The problem with these shakes is, I think, that they are trying too hard. It just seems like these added, ‘fancy’ ingredients are there for show, but no thought has really gone into how they blend and taste together.

I think if I was spending my money on these I’d be really disappointed, and if this was my first taste of a protein shake it would put me off for life.

These are the sort of blends you would have to drink pinching your nose while gulping them back in one got, an expression on your face like you’ve just smelt a ripe fart! But, hey, I’m nothing but honest with you guys.

I would say these aren’t worth spending your hard earned cash on.

Until next time, stay happy and healthy…

text-2

*PR sample

Leave a Reply

